Chicane Reimagines Debut Album ‘Far From The Maddening Crowds’ in Symphonic Adaptation

March 1, 2024 – A question often asked about Chicane’s music is why it’s not used in film more often. Music lovers and fans understand the depth and the nuances so suited to visuals and know his sound cannot be confined to a single genre. Despite having already soundtracked numerous moments in the almost thirty years since its release, Chicane's debut artist album now embraces a symphonic adaptation, perfectly poised for cinematic translation: 'Far From The Maddening Crowds (Symphony Rehearsals)'.

ARDI4497 Far From The Maddening Crowds (Symphonic Rehearsals).jpg
  • jpg

Please click here to listen to Chicane – Far From the Maddening Crowds (Symphony Rehearsals)

Scored and conducted by Joe Duddell (Elbow, James, New Order, Alison Moyet), the strings and orchestration take the forefront in reworking this symphonic reimagination of the 1997 album while simultaneously upholding the dance elements of the original record. From the opening track ‘Early’, reminiscent of the awakening after a romantic rendezvous, to the palpable dance rhythms in ‘Offshore DC’ and the mysterious quality of ‘Red Skies’, the album utilizes the talents of real musicians (The Hallé and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra) to authentically capture truly pure emotion.


“For nearly three decades, I’ve revisited this album, in each instance viewing it through a new lens,” says Chicane. “We’ve been floating the concept of a refined, instrumental adaptation for some time now, and breathing this new, unfiltered life into these tracks has brought a whole new meaning to this body of work that I cherish so dearly. So sit back, take a breath, listen and let the music paint the pictures in your mind.”


‘Far From the Maddening Crowd – Symphony Rehearsals’ is available on Modena Records via Armada Music from March 1, 2024.


1.    Chicane - Early (Symphonic Rehearsal Mix)

2.    Chicane - Already There (Symphonic Rehearsal Mix)

3.    Chicane - Offshore (Symphonic Rehearsal Mix)

4.    Chicane - Lost You Somewhere (Symphonic Rehearsal Mix)

5.    Chicane - From Blue To Green (Symphonic Rehearsal Mix)

6.    Chicane - Sunstroke (DC Symphonic Rehearsal Mix)

7.    Chicane - Leaving Town (Symphonic Rehearsal Mix)

8.    Chicane - Red Skies (Symphonic Rehearsal Mix)

9.    Chicane - Sunstroke (Symphonic Rehearsal Mix)

10.  Chicane - Offshore (DC Symphonic Rehearsal Mix)

11.  Chicane - The Drive Home (Symphonic Rehearsal Mix)


Note to editor:

For release assets (artwork, tracklist, streaming/pre-save link), please click here.

For Chicane’s media kit, please click here.

For more information, please contact Mimi via

About Chicane

Often seen as one of, if not the seminal Trance originator. With the track Offshore he refined cool in the dance genre, the name Chicane became synonymous with Ibiza and sunsets, and quality music, an aural security blanket. Saltwater followed on and became a UK top five hit. Worldwide success was sealed with a collaboration between Chicane and Bryan Adams, Don’t Give Up from the hit album Behind the Sun. The track has reached the number one spot on the UK Singles Chart, indeed it was number one globally. Now recognised as a dancefloor classic, it was one of the first dance collaboration tracks to reach such heights. In addition to his work as Chicane the artist, he has worked with and produced music with Cher, Sir Tom Jones, William Orbit, Natasha Beddingfield and composed for TV and film.

Amazon Music | Apple Music | Deezer | Facebook | Instagram | SoundCloud | Spotify | X | YouTube

About Armada Music

Armada Music is the biggest independent dance music label in the world. Founded by Armin van Buuren, Maykel Piron (CEO) and David Lewis, the label manages an ever-growing catalog of over 40,000 tracks, built up across twenty-plus years of specialized dance music exploitation.

Representing artists such as Armin van Buuren, ARTY, D.O.D, Eelke Kleijn, Jan Blomqvist, Loud Luxury, Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano, Tensnake, THEMBA and Yulia Niko, Armada Music amasses more than one billion streams per month, airplay on leading radio outlets such as BBC Radio 1 and Sirius XM, and top positions in the world’s most notable charts. The label also takes great pride in major achievements such as Armin van Buuren’s GRAMMY nomination for ‘This Is What It Feels Like’, Loud Luxury and Brando’s ‘Body’ surpassing one billion streams on Spotify and breaking artists such as Lost Frequencies into global stardom.

Across offices in Amsterdam (HQ), New York, London and Laren (NL), Armada Music offers a truly global appeal to its growing roster. The label has its own club, radio studio and multiple production studios, and hosts various live formats. Producer platform Armada University, which offers educational products and opportunities, shows the label’s sustained effort to nurture the next wave of talent.

In 2023, Armada Music launched BEAT Music Fund, the world’s first dance music investment company, that acquires catalogs with the mission of honoring, representing and reinvigorating them. BEAT’s portfolio will continue to grow; in the first six months following its launch, BEAT acquired the catalogs of, among others, electronic music star ARTY, house and techno pioneer Kevin Saunderson’s KMS Records, legendary NYC-based house label King Street Sounds and chart-topping producers Chocolate Puma.

Contact details

Related topics

Receive Armada Music news on your RSS reader.

Or subscribe through Atom URL manually