May 12, 2023 – Today, Armin van Buuren released the twentieth installment of his A State of Trance mix album series. A 41-track journey showcasing the diversity of the trance genre, ‘A State of Trance 2023 (Mixed by Armin van Buuren)’ comprises three mixes rather than the usual two, each unique in soundscape.

  • jpg
Favicon for Listen to A State of Trance 2023 (Mixed by Armin van Buuren)

In contrast to the previous iterations that housed two mixes, this year’s mix album features a third mix in homage to one of Armin van Buuren’s own imprints, Who’s Afraid of 138?!. The label, which started as a joke in his A State of Trance radio show many years ago, became a haven for fans seeking out the high-energy sound it’s synonymous with and now lends its trademark sound to the album’s third mix. Across its fourteen tracks, mix three features two exclusive remixes from Bogdan Vix & UUFO Remix and Maddix of Armin van Buuren’s ‘Vulnerable’ and ‘Computers Take Over The World’ respectively, taken from his eighth studio album, ‘Feel Again’.


Elsewhere on the album is a third exclusive remix of ‘Dayglow’ (taken from ‘Feel Again’, remixed by Bryan Kearney) in addition to several Armin van Buuren originals, including the previously unreleased ‘Fire With Fire’ (with HRRTZ, feat. Julia Church) and recent single ‘When We Come Alive’ (with Vini Vici, feat. ALBA). The album welcomes several more exclusive tracks and remixes from the likes of Ahmed Helmy, Luke Bond & M6, Super8 & Tab and Crowd+Ctrl, set to see release later this year on imprints such as Armind, A State of Trance and WAO138?!.


Armin van Buuren firmly believes that trance music doesn’t need to be stylistically boxed in, that it should capture a feeling no matter the tempo or the sound. ‘A State of Trance 2023 (Mixed by Armin van Buuren)’ echoes that notion; together, three mixes are a testament to the evolution of the trance genre in recent years.

I’ve never been one to label music on the basis of tempo or the elements it contains.To me, every kind of music evokes a unique feeling, which means a record can feel like trance music even if it shares traits with tracks others would dub as, say, deep house or techno. Even though this notion has been a pillar within my radio show for years, I felt that dividing this new mix album into three sides instead of two would make a strong statement as to what trance music means to me, the brand and so many fans who share my view. Armin van Buuren

Track List

Mix 1 - On The Beach

1. Armin van Buuren & HRRTZ feat. Julia Church - Fire With Fire

2. BetweenUs - Escape

3. KASIA - Universal Nation 

4. Sonicvibe & Tachyean - Deep Dive 

5. Hel:sløwed & That Girl - Hold Onto This

6. The Blizzard- Rabagast

7. ChangedFaces & Harry Diamond feat. Émilie Rachel - Home

8. UUFO - Energize

9. The Blizzard - Kalopsia (Matt Fax Remix) 

10. Cubicore - Bifrost 

11. Ferry Corsten - Reborn (Jonas Saalbach Remix) 

12. Super8 & Tab and Crowd+Ctrl feat. Jess Ball - Incomplete 

13. Laura van Dam - Needing You


Mix 2 - In The Club

1. Eelke Kleijn - Transmission (Armin van Buuren Remix)

2. Giuseppe Ottaviani & Ilan Bluestone - Futuro 

3. DIM3NSION - Adagio In G Minor 

4. JODA - Breaking Down Walls (Myon's Return To 2000 Mix) 

5. Norni - Odyssey

6. Ahmed Helmy - Glitch

7. Armin van Buuren & Ahmed Helmy - Rhythm Inside

8. Ahmed Helmy & D72 – Analogy

9. Maarten de Jong, Frank Spector & Luca Morris – Minuetto

10. Luke Bond x M6 - Nexus

11. Whiteout - Stay Focused

12. Daxson - Who We Are

13. Armin van Buuren feat. Stuart Crichton - Dayglow (Bryan Kearney Remix)

14. Solarstone - Solarcoaster (Maarten de Jong Remix)


Mix 3 - Who's Afraid of 138?!

1. Armin van Buuren & Vini Vici feat. ALBA - When We Come Alive

2. Frank Spector & Doppenberg - GENESIS

3. Mhammed El Alami - Healing

4. Armin van Buuren feat. Justine Suissa - Burned With Desire (Bryan Kearney Remix)

5. Armin van Buuren feat. Vanessa Campagna - Vulnerable (Bogdan Vix & UUFO Remix)

6. Driftmoon - Feel The Waves

7. Artento Divini x XiJaro & Pitch – Bad Boys

8. Ben Gold - Ultrasonic (Maarten de Jong Remix)

9. Armin van Buuren - Computers Take Over The World (Maddix Remix)

10. John Askew - Aces Hi

11. Miditekk - Slow The World Down

12. Inoblivion - When Darkness Falls

13. Steve Dekay - Black Magic

14. David Forbes - Dreamstate

Note to editor:

For all release assets (artwork, track list) please click here

For Armin van Buuren's press kit, please click here

About Armada Music

Armada Music is the biggest independent dance music label in the world. Founded by Armin van Buuren, Maykel Piron (CEO) and David Lewis, the label manages an ever-growing catalog of over 40,000 tracks, built up across twenty-plus years of specialized dance music exploitation.

Representing artists such as Armin van Buuren, ARTY, D.O.D, Eelke Kleijn, Jan Blomqvist, Loud Luxury, Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano, Tensnake, THEMBA and Yulia Niko, Armada Music amasses more than one billion streams per month, airplay on leading radio outlets such as BBC Radio 1 and Sirius XM, and top positions in the world’s most notable charts. The label also takes great pride in major achievements such as Armin van Buuren’s GRAMMY nomination for ‘This Is What It Feels Like’, Loud Luxury and Brando’s ‘Body’ surpassing one billion streams on Spotify and breaking artists such as Lost Frequencies into global stardom.

Across offices in Amsterdam (HQ), New York, London and Laren (NL), Armada Music offers a truly global appeal to its growing roster. The label has its own club, radio studio and multiple production studios, and hosts various live formats. Producer platform Armada University, which offers educational products and opportunities, shows the label’s sustained effort to nurture the next wave of talent.

In 2023, Armada Music launched BEAT Music Fund, the world’s first dance music investment company, that acquires catalogs with the mission of honoring, representing and reinvigorating them. BEAT’s portfolio will continue to grow; in the first six months following its launch, BEAT acquired the catalogs of, among others, electronic music star ARTY, house and techno pioneer Kevin Saunderson’s KMS Records, legendary NYC-based house label King Street Sounds and chart-topping producers Chocolate Puma.

Contact details

Related topics

Receive Armada Music news on your RSS reader.

Or subscribe through Atom URL manually