NIIKO X SWAE Drop First Single of Highly Anticipated Sophomore EP ‘Detention’

March 8, 2024 – Hot on the heels of NIIKO X SWAE’s most massive tracks to date, ‘Serious’ with Train and ‘Everybody (Rule the World)’ with Tiesto and Tears for Fears, the dynamic LA-based electronic duo unveils ‘Rain’, the first single of their highly anticipated forthcoming EP, releasing this summer. Aptly named ‘Detention’, the release marks a graduation from their debut EP ‘Field Trip’, revealing a maturation of NIIKO X SWAE’s refined sound and distinctive brand.

  • jpg

Please click here to preview NIIKO X SWAE – Rain


Please click here to stream NIIKO X SWAE – Rain


Embracing the youthful exuberance and playful exploration of the classic NIIKO X SWAE style, ‘Detention’ skillfully navigates a club-centric, darker electro side of the duo’s output across its four, house-heavy tracks. Leading the charge is ‘Rain’ – their second link-up with Canadian vocalist Mougleta – an electrifying fusion of monumental synths, infectious vocals and unstoppable drops, igniting an energy-laden production that sets the stage for NIIKO X SWAE’s artistic evolution.   

“Our intent was to make a body of work you can drive to, cry to, jam out in the club to, and basically enjoy in any setting,” says NIIKO X SWAE. “We’re excited to share these songs because they portray our growth both inside and outside the studio.”

  • jpg

The project’s branding captures a youthful defiance, diverging from the traditional NIIKO X SWAE brand with a darker edge. The artwork creatively nods to their origins, intertwining the familiar primary colors scheme reminiscent of past artworks with liberating, rebellious undertones.


The duo adds: “This is just another fresh step forward for the NIIKO X SWAE project. We can’t wait for you all to hear, and for you to come with us on the next step in our journey.”


‘Rain’ is available now via Armada Music.


1.    Rain (feat. Mougleta)

2.    365

3.    Feel The Way I Do

4.    My Head (with Nick Schilder)


Note to editor:

For all release assets (artwork, lyrics, etc.), please click here.

For NIIKO X SWAE’s media kit, please click here.

For questions and/or promotional inquiries, please contact Mimi via


Childhood friends and LA-based duo NIIKO X SWAE spent their early days learning to produce and dreaming of pioneering a new lane in house music. Today, NIIKO X SWAE are familiar faces in dance music. Their recent collaboration with Tiesto and Tears for Fears on ‘Rule the World (Everybody)’ has gone viral with over 130 million views on Instagram. The trending sound was officially released in October and has since eclipsed 15 million streams with support from Spotify’s Dance Rising and Just Hits, Apple Music’s DanceXL and New Music Daily, the cover of Amazon’s Pop Remixes and much more. Following this, NIIKO X SWAE released ‘Serious’ with multi-Grammy Award-winning band Train. ‘Serious’ continues to dominate DSPs, with major editorial looks from Amazon Music and Spotify. NIIKO X SWAE have also previously collaborated on high profile releases with Deorro feat. Kiiara on ‘Help Me’ and with Nicky Romero on ‘Easy’.


The Tao Group Hospitality Las Vegas residents have also become a household name in the remix lane, releasing remixes for Bebe Rexha, Armin van Buuren, John Legend and more. NIIKO X SWAE’s ‘Sacrifice’ remix for Bebe Rexha has seen a multitude of success, topping 5.5 million streams since its release. The remix earned a top spot on KIIS FM’s “Top 20 Beats of the Week”, helping lead ‘Sacrifice’ to #1 at Dance Radio. NIIKO X SWAE are excited to continue veraciously touring, recently announcing their 2024 debut headline ‘Rule the World Tour’ which consists of over 20 dates across the US.

About Armada Music

Armada Music is the biggest independent dance music label in the world. Founded by Armin van Buuren, Maykel Piron (CEO) and David Lewis, the label manages an ever-growing catalog of over 40,000 tracks, built up across twenty-plus years of specialized dance music exploitation.

Representing artists such as Armin van Buuren, ARTY, D.O.D, Eelke Kleijn, Jan Blomqvist, Loud Luxury, Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano, Tensnake, THEMBA and Yulia Niko, Armada Music amasses more than one billion streams per month, airplay on leading radio outlets such as BBC Radio 1 and Sirius XM, and top positions in the world’s most notable charts. The label also takes great pride in major achievements such as Armin van Buuren’s GRAMMY nomination for ‘This Is What It Feels Like’, Loud Luxury and Brando’s ‘Body’ surpassing one billion streams on Spotify and breaking artists such as Lost Frequencies into global stardom.

Across offices in Amsterdam (HQ), New York, London and Laren (NL), Armada Music offers a truly global appeal to its growing roster. The label has its own club, radio studio and multiple production studios, and hosts various live formats. Producer platform Armada University, which offers educational products and opportunities, shows the label’s sustained effort to nurture the next wave of talent.

In 2023, Armada Music launched BEAT Music Fund, the world’s first dance music investment company, that acquires catalogs with the mission of honoring, representing and reinvigorating them. BEAT’s portfolio will continue to grow; in the first six months following its launch, BEAT acquired the catalogs of, among others, electronic music star ARTY, house and techno pioneer Kevin Saunderson’s KMS Records, legendary NYC-based house label King Street Sounds and chart-topping producers Chocolate Puma.

Contact details

Related topics

Receive Armada Music news on your RSS reader.

Or subscribe through Atom URL manually